Certified Fire Investigator

Certified Fire Investigator (IAAI-CFI®)

 In 1986, the IAAI addressed a national concern by developing the Certified Fire Investigator (IAAI-CFI®) program. The IAAI-CFI® qualification is a standardized evaluation of a fire investigator’s training and expertise. Investigators applying for IAAI-CFI® certification must complete an extensive application requiring documentation, earn sufficient points for their achievements in education, training, and experience, and pass a comprehensive examination. To become an IAAI-CFI®, the applicant must:
  • Attain at least 150 points on the IAAI-CFI® application through documented achievements in education, training, and experience. Every point claimed on the application must be documented by certificate, diploma, reference letter, transcript, or other acceptable method.
  • Earn a 70% passing grade on a comprehensive, "closed book," proctored examination that is based on every job performance requirement in NFPA 1033: Standard for Professional Qualifications for Fire Investigator. The application must be approved prior to sitting for the examination.


Application for Certified Fire Investigator

Recertification Application

Practices and Procedures Manual

Fire Investigator Reference List